Teaching at TKMCE is structured around 11 departments. The Institution is affiliated to the University of Kerala and APJ Abdul Kalam Technological University, and all the courses offered in the college are approved by All India Council for Technical Education. It  offers 8 Undergraduate, 8 Postgraduate and 2 Research programmes. Research centers are  part of the departments, encouraging inter-departmental collaboration and opportunity for students to participate in exciting research projects.