The Department of Architecture was set up in 1985. The graduate programme B.Arch was started with an intake of 20 students, which was increased to 80 in 2013. The fundamental thrust of the department has been to emphasise the practical nature of the profession. The Department improves the design skill of students by concentrating in the design methodology. The Course equips the students for the profession with its six months training and tenth semester thesis. The Department, since its inception, has been associated with various real time development programs of the district and of the state. ZONASA, the zonal convention of the National Association of Students of Architecture was hosted by the department in 1992 and 2010. The department celebrated its silver jubilee in 2010.

Faculty of the department are specialised in Architectural Design, Urban Design, Conservation, Planning, Housing, Building Science and Technology, Construction Management and Transportation Planning.

B.Arch is a 10 semester course affiliated to Kerala University and APJ Abdul Kalam Technological University. This program is recognised by the Council of Architecture and All India Council for Technical Education (AICTE).

The candidates seeking admission to this course should have passed the Higher Secondary Examination, Kerala or 12th standard V.H.S.E, C.B.S.E, C.I.S.C.E.or any other examination accepted by the University as equivalent there to, with Mathematics as a subject and obtaining not less than 50 percent marks in aggregate or a Diploma in Engineering awarded by the Board of Technical Education, Kerala or an examination recognised as equivalent thereto after undergoing an institutional course of at least three years securing a minimum of 50% marks in the final diploma examination or International Baccalaureate Diploma, after ten years of schooling, with not less than 50% marks in aggregate and with Mathematics as compulsory subject of examination.

Proposed new block for the department – 3d Visualization

All Admissions to B. Arch. course shall be subject to passing of an Aptitude Test in Architecture (NATA) conducted by the competent authority and approved by the Council of Architecture (CoA). No lateral admission shall be permitted as per the minimum standards of Architectural Education Regulations 1983 or of Council of Architecture and AICTE notification, July 1992. The number of students admitted shall be based on the sanctioned intake by the Council of Architecture, the All India Council for Technical Education and the APJ Abdul Kalam Technological University.