The Physics Department imparts Physics for all students of S1S2 BTech(regular). The Department of Physics was started along with the main stream in the year 1958. The department has laboratory facility for the regular B Tech students.

There are two permanent faculty members and two guest lecturers in the department. Prof Shaila K A present HoD of the department is doing research in Acoustics. Dr Shemim S S faculty of the department has done PhD in Solid State Physics with a few published works.

Dr. B. Premlet(Former HOD) has authored the following books: Advanced Engineering Physics (KU,CU,MGU & CUSAT) ,Physics for Engineers(CUSAT & MGU) , Electromagnetic Theory with Applications, Introduction to Solid State Devices, Introduction to Electrical Engineering(Co-Author).

This Department functions as a supporting department. Members of Physics department guide students in the preparation of seminars, projects and research works.


To inspire and prepare the students to meet the needs of the nation, to impart basic concepts of science to budding Engineers thus enabling them to be part of nation building.


  • To evolve strategies in the department for providing strong foundation in physics to prepare high quality Technocrats.
  • Motivate and encourage the students to engage in lifelong learning which would help them keep abreast with contemporary developments in science to become outstanding performers in the varied careers they choose.
  • Facilitate adequate exposure to the faculty enabling them to be up-to-date with the emerging technologies.